Big changes – Moving and Possibly Baby?

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted but it’s been a tough year and haven’t had the inspiration or want to share. Let me explain a little…

You may question the title as to why ‘possibly’ baby? My husband and I found out early last summer that we had extremely low chances of having children naturally. It was a heavy blow and we just tried to distract ourselves with buying things and trips. I actually started this blog with the intention of sharing the struggle but I wasn’t ready to talk about or share it. Our only way to conceive children now is to go through in-vitro fertilization and we’ve decided to go for it. We haven’t quite started but will be soon as we were waiting a long time for our clinic to open.

So if that wasn’t crazy enough, as the date got closer and more real that we’d be starting IVF soon, I thought it’d be a great idea to move too!  My husband and I go through these bouts of ‘what if we could live in a nicer place’ every once in a while but we’ve never actually gone for it. Before our home now, we had rented for a few months to test out living together and then moved to our place now and have stayed here for 10 years. It’s a small townhouse and we still love our place but thought that if we were to upgrade our house, I’d rather do it before baby comes. We’re not the type to move all the time so I knew if I waited till after baby, it would probably be years after baby.

So we have decided to do a new-build (ha, we thought making a baby through IVF wasn’t stressful enough apparently!). We’ve never done this before but very excited to customize it and make it our own. We’re looking to start the IVF process my next cycle, we’ll be going to make decisions on colors and finishings on the house in May, move into the new house around November and if we’re successful with our IVF, we’ll have a new baby this time next year. It’s going to be a big year!

I want to share my process as I know there are a lot of infertility strugglers out there. I know how sad it can be and I’m also trying to prepare myself if it isn’t successful. I also want to share my journey to a new-build house as it’s fun and exciting but can be stressful too!

If you want to hear more about our infertility story, please let me know. There are many different reasons and ours is not uncommon but I didn’t want to make this post too sad!

Ok time for distraction!

For the new house kitchen, I’m planning on grey walls, white cabinets in the kitchen, and a greyish color for hardwood floors. 

This is some inspiration I found on Pinterest:


Thoughts???

Leave a comment